Show menu

IARCCUM Bishop pairs

In October of 2016, IARCCUM gathered 19 pairs of Anglican and Roman Catholic bishops in Canterbury and Rome for an 8-day pilgrimage. This gathering was an opportunity to study and pray together at the tombs of Saints Peter, Paul, Augustine of Canterbury, and Thomas à Becket.

A brief description of the role of the IARCCUM Bishops has been prepared. The 2016 Pilgrimage provided an opportunity for the bishops to discuss the ecumenical context in their own countries and to learn from the experience of each other.

The bishop-pairs were commissioned by Pope Francis and Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby at vespers at San Gregorio al Celio. On the site where St Gregory the Great commissioned St Augustine to evangelise the English, these bishops were commissioned to promote the growth in communion between these two churches and the reception of the agreements reached in the theological dialogues.

The following pairs of bishops have accepted the role of IARCCUM bishop (updated December 2016):


The Right Reverend Dr David Hamid, Suffragan Bishop of Gibraltar in Europe
Most Reverend Donald Bolen, Archbishop of Regina, Canada


The Right Reverend John Parkes, Diocese of Wangaratta
Most Reverend Christopher Prowse, Archbishop of Canberra-Goulburn


The Right Reverend Dr Robert Innes, Bishop of Gibraltar in Europe
Most Reverend Johan Bonny, Bishop of Antwerp


The Right Reverend Flavio Irala, Bishop of the Diocese of São Paulo
Most Reverend Francisco Biasin, Bishop of Barra do Pirai-Volta Redonda


The Right Reverend Dennis Drainville, Anglican Diocese of Quebec
Most Reverend Gary Gordon, Bishop of Victoria

Central Africa

The Right Reverend Fanuel Magangani, Anglican Diocese of Northern Malawi
Most Reverend Emmanuel Kanyama, Chairman for Ecumenism and Interreligious Dialogue, Episcopal Conference of Malawi


The Right Reverend Tim Thornton, Bishop of Truro
Most Reverend Mark O’Toole, Bishop of Plymouth


The Right Reverend Dr Robert Innes, Bishop of Gibraltar in Europe
Most Reverend Robert LeGall, Bishop of Toulouse


The Right Reverend Victor Atta-Baffoe, Bishop of Cape Coast
Most Reverend Peter Paul Angkyier, Bishop of Damongo

Hong Kong

The Right Reverend Andrew Chan, Bishop of Western Kowloon
Most Reverend Michael Yeung, Auxiliary Bishop of Hong Kong, Diocesan Commission for Promoting Christian Unity


The Right Reverend Royce Victor, Bishop of the Diocese of Malabar of the Church of South India
Most Reverend Felix A Machado, Archbishop of Vasai


The Right Reverend Kenneth Kearon, Bishop of Limerick and Killaloe
Most Reverend Brendan Leahy, Bishop of Limerick

Middle East / Horn of Africa

The Right Reverend Grant LeMarquand, Suffragan Bishop for the Horn of Africa, Diocese of Egypt
Most Reverend Paul Nabil El-Sayah, Archbishop Emeritus of Haifa and the Holy Land, Patriarchal Vicar General


The Right Reverend Nathan Tome, Diocesan Bishop of Guadalcanal
Most Reverend John Bosco Baremes, SM, Bishop of Port-Vila

New Zealand

The Right Reverend Ross G. Bay, Bishop of Auckland
His Eminence Cardinal John A. Dew, Archbishop of Wellington


The Right Reverend Alwin Samuel, Bishop of Sialkot
Most Reverend Sebastian Shaw, Archbishop of Lahore

Papua New Guinea

The Right Reverend Denny Guka, Bishop of Port Moresby
Most Reverend William Fey, Bishop of Kimbe

South Africa

The Right Reverend Nkosinathi Ndwandwe, Suffragan Bishop of the Diocese of Natal
Most Reverend Graham Rose, Bishop of Dundee

Sri Lanka

The Right Reverend Dhiloraj Canagasabey, Bishop of Colombo, Church of Ceylon
Most Reverend Emmanuel Fernando, Auxiliary Bishop of the Archdiocese of Colombo


The Right Reverend John Bauerschmidt, Episcopal Diocese of Tennessee
Most Reverend Bishop Denis Madden, Auxiliary Bishop and Vicar General of Baltimore