Second Meeting for Dialogue

15 July 1967 • Persistent link:

from The Tablet archive:

Following the week of talks at Gazzada last January, the Anglican/Roman Catholic joint preparatory commission for dialogue between the two Churches will hold its second meeting at Huntercombe Manor, Taplow, Berkshire, from August 30th to September 4th. In addition to all the delegates present at the Gazzada talks, the Catholic team will be strengthened by Bishop Butler, 0.S.B., auxiliary of Westminster, and Fr. Camillus Hay from Australia, while the Anglican team will also include Dr. H. R. McAdoo, Bishop of Ossory, Ferns, and Leighlin (Church of Ireland), and Dr. T. A. Mollegen (American Episcopalian), of the Protestant Episcopal Theological Seminary, Virginia. There will also be an observer from the World Council of Churches, Dr. Harding Meyer. The addition of a member of the Church of Ireland team would seem to be intended to answer the criticisms—voiced mainly by an Irish Jesuit writing in the Furrow — of the absence of any member of that Church from the Gazzada team.

The full list of Catholic delegates is as follows:

Bishop Willebrands, secretary of the Secretariat for Promoting Christian Unity.
Bishop Helmsing of Kansas City-St. Joseph, USA.
Bishop Gomes, auxiliary of Bombay, India.
Bishop Fox, auxiliary of Menevia, Wales.
Bishop Butler, 0.S.B., auxiliary of Westminster.
Fr. Louis Bouyer, Cong. Orat., Department of Theology, Notre Dame, USA.
Fr. Camillus Hay, St. Paschal College, Victoria, Australia.
Fr. George Tavard, A.A., Professor of Theology, Mount Mercy College, Pittsburgh, USA.
Fr. Michael Richards, editor of the Clergy Review, St. Edmund’s College, Ware, Herts.
Fr. John Keating, C.S.P., secretary of the English section of the Canadian bishops’ commission on ecumenism.
Fr. Adrian Hastings, Kipalanala Seminary, Tabora, Tanzania.
Canon W. A. Purdy, of the Secretariat for Promoting Christian Unity.

The Anglican delegates are:

Dr. J. R. H. Moorman, Bishop of Ripon.
Dr. W. G. H. Simon, Bishop of Liandaff.
Dr. C. H. W. de Sousa, Bishop of Colombo.
Dr. E. G. Knapp-Fisher, Bishop of Pretoria, South Africa.
Dr. H. R. McAdoo, Bishop of Ossory, Ferns and Leighlin, Ireland.
Canon James Atkinson, lecturer in theology, Hull.
Canon Eric Kemp, lecturer in theology and mediaeval history, Oxford.
The Rev. Howard Root, professor of theology, Southampton.
Dr. Massey L Shepherd, Jr, professor of liturgics, Church Divinity School of the Pacific, California, USA.
The Rev. Eugene R. Fairweather, professor of dogmatic theology, Trinity College, Toronto, Canada.
Dr. A. T. Mollegen, Protestant Episcopal Theological Seminary in Virginia, USA.
Canon John Findlow, the Archbishop of Canterbury’s representative at the Vatican.
Canon John R. Satterthwaite, general secretary of the Church of England Council on Foreign Relations and of the Archbishop of Canterbury’s Commission on Roman Catholic Relations.

The chairmen of the joint commission are Bishop Helmsing and Bishop Moorman. The secretaries are Canon Purdy, Canon Findlow, and Canon Satterthwaite.