Press release on the establishment of ARCIC-II

ARCIC-II-2 (text of press release on the establishment of ARCIC-II) and ARCIC-II-2A contain the same list of the ARCIC membership.

Author(s): ARCIC II
Dated: 13 June 1983
Protocol: ARCIC II 2
Persistent link:
This permanent link may be used to link to this document.
Anglican-Roman Catholic International Commission II. "Press release on the establishment of ARCIC-II", ARCIC II 2 (13 June 1983).

Archival formats and locations:

Monday, 13 June 1983


The Co-Chairmen of the new Anglican-Roman Catholic International Commission met last week for two days to plan for the first full meeting of the Commission in Venice later in the year (30th August-6th September). The Co-Chairmen of the new Commission (ARCIC-II) are the Right Revd. Mark Santer, Bishop of Kensington (Anglican) and the Right Revd. Cormac Murphy-O’Connor, Bishop of Arundel and Brighton (Roman Catholic). They met, with representatives of the Anglican Consultative Council and the Vatican Secret~riat for Promoting Christian Unity at Bishop Cormac Murphy-0’Connor’s house at Storrington, West Sussex. They worked on the agenda of the new Commission as directed by Pope John Paul II and the Archbishop of Canterbury when they met in Canterbury a year ago.

The task of the new Commission, as there stated, will be to continue the work already begun by (a) the examination of the outstanding doctrinal differences which still separate the Churches – especially in the light of their respective judgements on the Final Report of the earlier Commission; (b) the study of all that hinders the mutual recognition of the ministries of the two Churches; (c) the recommendation of the practical steps necessary for the restoration of full communion.

The membership of the new body is more widely representative of the Anglican Communion and world-wide Roman Catholic Church than the former Commission. It includes members from Australia, Barbados, Canada, England, Ghana, India, Kenya, New Zealand, Nigeria and the United States. One quarter of the new commission continues from its predecessor.

Its full membership is as follows:


The Rt. Revd. Mark Santer, Bishop of Kensington,(Co-Chairman), England.
The Revd. Canon J.A. Baycroft, Archdeacon of Ottawa, Canada.
The Rt. Revd. Donald Cameron, Assistant Bishop of Sydney, Australia.
The Revd. Professor Henry Chadwick, Emeritus Professor of Divinity, University of Cambridge, England.
The Revd. Julian Charley, Rector, St. Peter’s Everton, and Warden of Shrewsbury House, Liverpool, England.
The Revd. Dr. Kortright Davis, Vice-Principal, Codrington College, Barbados.
The Rt. Revd. David Gitari, Bishop of Mount Kenya East.
The Revd. Professor Oliver O’Donovan, Regius Professor of Moral and Pastoral Theology, University of Oxford, England (from late 1984)
Professor John Pobe, Professor of Religious Studies, University of Ghana.
Mrs. Mary Tanner, Study Secretary, Board for Mission and Unity of the General Synod of the Church of England.
The Rt. Revd. Arthur Vogel, Bishop of West Missouri, USA.
The Revd. Professor Robert Wright, Professor of Church History, General Theological Seminary, New York, USA.

The Revd. Canon Christopher Hill, Archbishop of Canterbury’s Assistant for Ecumenical Affairs, England.

Roman Catholic

The Rt. Revd. Cormac Murphy-O’Connor, Bishop of Arundel and Brighton, England. (Co-Chairman)
The Revd. Fr. A. Adappur, SJ, Lumen Institute, Cochin, India.
The Revd. J. Akpunomou, Rector of the Major Seminary, Enugu, Nigeria.
The Rt. Revd. Mgr. Brian Ashby, Bishop of Christchurch, New Zealand.
Sister M. Cecily Boulding, OP, Lecturer in Systematic Theology, Ushaw College, Durham, England.
The Revd. Fr. Pierre Duprey, WF, Secretary, Vatican, Secretariat for Promoting Christian Unity.
The Rt. Revd. Raymond Lessard, Bishop of Savannah, Georgia, USA.
The Revd. Brendan Soane, Lecturer in Moral Theology, Allen Hall, London, England.
The Revd. John Thornhill, Aquinas Academy, Sydney, Australia.
The Revd. Fr. Jean Tillard, OP, Dominican Faculty of Theology, Ottawa, Canada.
The Revd. Dr. Edward Yarnold, SJ, Campion Hall, Oxford.
A further Roman Catholic member to be appointed.

The Very Revd. Mgr. Richard Stewart, Vatican Secretariat for Promoting Christian Unity.

An Observer from the World Council of Churches to be appointed.