Primates of the Anglican Communion

The Anglican Communion Primates’ Meetings are regular meetings of the Anglican Primates, i.e. the chief archbishops or bishops of each (often national) ecclesiastical province of the Anglican Communion. There are currently 38 Primates of the Anglican Communion. The Primates come together from the geographic Provinces around the world. The Archbishop of Canterbury chairs the meetings, with the Secretary General of the Anglican Consultative Council (ACC) serving as secretary.

The Primates’ Meeting was established by Archbishop of Canterbury, the Most Revd. Donald Coggan, in 1978 as an opportunity for “leisurely thought, prayer and deep consultation.” The first meeting was held in 1979.

See also documents authored by Primates of the Anglican Communion

Agreed Statements

Letters, addresses, & greetings


Communiqués & Press Releases

Minutes & Reports