Cardinal Joseph Ratzinger

born Joseph Aloisius Ratzinger in 1927; ordained priest 1951; Cardinal Archbishop of Munich and Freising (1977-1982); President of the International Theological Commission (1981-2005); Prefect of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith (1981-2005); President of the Pontifical Biblical Commission (1981-2005); Dean of the College of Cardinals (2002-2005); elected Pope 2005; resigned papacy February 28, 2013.

A separate author listing is included for documents written as Pope Benedict XVI